top of page


Flint Hills Publishing is proud to recognize the following awards won by our authors.

Spur Award by Western Writers of America

Clyde Toland wins 2022 Spur Award.jpg

Clyde Toland, author of American HeroKansas Heritage: Frederick Funston's Early Years, 1865-1890, has been recognized for the Spur Award by the Western Writers of America for the Best First Nonfiction Book of 2022.  Since 1953, the Spur Award is given annually by the WWA to honor "writers for distinguished writing about the American West," and is "considered one of the most prestigious awards in American literature."  Read News Release

Will Rogers Medallion Award, Finalist

Will Rogers Medallion Award 1a.png

American HeroKansas Heritage: Frederick Funston's Early Years, 1865-1890, by Clyde Toland is a finalist for the Will Rogers Medallion Award in the Western Biographies / Memoirs category. Named in honor of American humorist, social commentator, and performer Will Rogers (1879–1935), the WRMA gold, silver, bronze, and copper medallions will be presented to the finalists during the awards banquet Saturday, October 21, 2023, in the Fort Worth Stockyards, Fort Worth, Texas.  Read News Release

Best Book Awards Finalist, Best Book Awards Finalist, sticker 1a trans.png

Courtesy Boy: A True Story of Addiction, by Mike Matson, has been named as a finalist among the top six creative nonfiction books of the year (2022) by, an online publication providing coverage for books from mainstream and independent publishers to the global online community.

Notable Indie, Shelf Unbound, 2022 Best Indie Book

Shelf Unbound Notable Award Courtesy Boy Mike Matson.png

Courtesy Boy: A True Story of Addiction, by Mike Matson, is a recipient of a “Notable Indie” award for  Shelf Media’s annual Shelf Unbound Best Indie Book Competition for best self-published/ independently published/ small press book. In addition to prizes, the winner, finalists, and more than 100 notable books from the competition are featured in the December/January issue (see page 88) of Shelf Unbound.

2023 Discovery Award Winner, IndieReader

Indie Reader Discovery Awards winner 1a.png

When We Lost Touch, by author Susan Kraus, is the recipient of the 2023 Discovery Award Best Cover Design (Fiction), by IndieReader (IRDA). The judges on the IRDA panel included top people in all areas for the publishing industry, in concert with IndiReader’s trusty reviewers.   View Winner's List

bottom of page